Who we are

IPA Europe is a non-profit international association, based in the heart of the European district in Brussels, that represents the interests of the European Probiotic Industry in all discussions with the European Institutions, the European Food and Safety Authority (EFSA), international institutions and national authorities, aiming to consolidate the probiotic category and boost EU competitiveness.

Together, IPA & IPA Europe are engaged in establishing a clear framework for the use of the term probiotics, to better address the challenges the probiotic sector is facing and contribute actively to the international debate in the Codex Alimentarius.  (Join us)

Enterprise number BE 0633.510.166

EU Transparency Register 294688218286 – 10



Chr. Hansen / Esben Laulund

Board Members

BioGaia / Isabelle Ducellier
Danone / David Obis
IFF / Sébastien Guéry
IPA / George Paraskevakos
Lallemand / Solange Henoud
Lesaffre / Sophie Legrain
Probi / Anita Johansen
Yakult / Hiroyasu Matsubara

Working Groups and Committees

On 10th September 2019 Bart Degeest (Yakult) was confirmed as Chair of the Outreach Committe, which is now part of the Steering Committee.

On 15th  May 2020 Sylvie Binda (Lallemand) was nominated as Chair of the Scientific Working Group.

On 2nd July 2020  Karen Vokes (Dupont-IFF) was nominated as Chair of the Regulatory Committee


Rosanna Pecere
IPA Europe
Executive Director